Tuesday, 29 April 2008

ASHES dIVIDE, Keep Telling Myself It's Alright

US, 2008.

ASHES dIVIDE is Billy Howerdel's (A Perfect Circle) new band, if you could call a solo project featuring Josh Freese on drums and Devo Keenan on cello a band. While musically Howerdel drove A Perfect Circle much of the output was kept in check by an antagonistic Maynard (Tool), who was a lot more interested in a darker counterpoint to Billy's melodic approach. ASHES dIVIDE, being pretty much all Billy, sheds the burden of having to please Maynard but as a result is a lot less convincing and at times too conventional.


01 - Stripped Away
02 - Denial Waits
03 - Too Late
04 - Forever Can Be
05 - Defamed
06 - Enemies
07 - A Wish
08 - Ritual
09 - The Stone
10 - The Prey
11 - Sword


No comments: