Tuesday, 19 June 2012

blueneck, Repetitions

UK, 2011

blueneck released Repetitions in September 2011. This record is absolutely soothing and beautiful, yet simultaneously chilling and intense. The haunting vocals and lulling melody make up for a definite must-listen for any post-rock fan.

1. Pneumothorax
2. Sawbones
3. Venger
4. Sleeping Through a Storm
5. Una Salus Victus
6. Ellipsis
7. Barriers Down
8. The Last Refuge
9. Lopussa



Sunday, 17 June 2012

Ghost, Opus Eponymous

Sweden, 2010

Ghost is a Stockholm-based heavy metal band with psychedelic influences. So far they have only released one album, Opus Eponymous. Ghost are vastly known for their eccentric appearance as their vocalist sports a cardinal outfit and a skull mask on stage while the remaining band members, referred to as the Nameless Ghouls, wear black robes à la Sunn O))). The band is also recognised for their unwillingness to reveal their identities and their Luciferian lyrics. I like to describe Ghost's music as what Satan would listen to if he were in a good mood.

1. Deus Culpa
2. Con Clavi Con Dio
3. Ritual
4. Elizabeth
5. Stand By Him
6. Satan Prayer
7. Death Knell
8. Prime Mover
9. Genesis



Saturday, 16 June 2012

Wolves in the Throne Room, Celestial Lineage

USA, 2011

Celestial Lineage is the fourth full-length studio album by American black metal band Wolves in the Throne Room. It was released through Southern Lord Records on September 13, 2011.
This album might not impress you the first time you listen to it, but it will most likely grow on you.


1. "Thuja Magus Imperium”
2. "Permanent Changes in Consciousness”
3. "Subterranean Initiation"
4. "Rainbow Illness"
5. "Woodland Cathedral"
6. "Astral Blood"
7. "Prayer of Transformation"



Thursday, 14 June 2012

Mothlite, Dark Age

UK, 2012

Daniel O’Sullivan releases his second album under the Mothlite moniker on May 14th through Kscope. ‘Dark Age’ is the follow-up to 2008’s ‘The Flax Of Reverie’ (Southern Records).

"This is prevalent in the lyrical content, which denotes a catharsis throughout a period of hysteria and emotional turmoil”. He describes ‘Dark Age’ as “Dark megalomania, contradictions and paradoxes, and general bleakness”, yet rarely does such subject matter get delivered with the soaring pop aplomb as on the album’s twelve tracks, flitting from sparkle and rumble of ‘The Blood’ to the epic washes of ‘The Underneath’ and beyond. The album has allowed O’Sullivan to break free from the confines of genre, taking influence from the likes of Tears For Fears and Kate Bush from his parents’ record collection through the industrial and gothic textures of DAF, The Cure, Coil and Dead Can Dance to the hardcore punk of his own personal roots. - last.fm

1. Wounded Lions
2. Disappear
3. Seeing in the Dark
4. The Blood
5. Something in the Sky
6. The Underneath
7. Zebras
8. Dreamsinter Nighspore
9. Milk
10. Dark Age
11. Red Rook