Thursday, 29 October 2009

Kashiwa Daisuke, 5 Dec.

Japan, 2009

**Updated Link**

Composer and guitarist of post-rock band yodaka in 2001. Being inspired by the band’s psychedelic sound due to a post-rock approach, and by Maurizio Bianchi, he started a solo project in 2004.

"In this album, Daisuke makes yet another step into a new horizon. The artist’s signature melody with its flowing, oriental taste hides behind the shadows to be replaced by tearing voice samples and noisy and metallic guitar sounds thrashing almost violently on top of colorful uplifting beats such as break core, down tempo, bleep techno, and drum n’ bass. In contrast to the aggressive sounds of the first half, the second part of the album starting with the 6th track, “Silver Moon” guides audiences to a minimal world created through electronic sounds and the piano. As a whole, the album portrays a brilliant contrast of sound. The melody of this album does not impose sentimentalism or nostalgia onto its listeners but rather, it takes them on a journey into rhythm from beginning to end. Even amidst the violent and excessive elements, there is always a composed eye seeing into the passion that lies beneath, there is a self-disciplined, strict interpretation of the world, a sublime and metallic texture."

This post is about the electronic version of Post-Rock music, it's highly recommended to give it a shot.

1. Red Moon
2. Requiem
3. Bogus Music
4. Taurus Prelude
5. Black Lie, White Lie
6. Silver Moon
7. Broken Device
8. About Moonlight
9. Aqua Regia
10. Beautiful Sunday


No comments: